Communities Lead Youth Mental Health Care in Alberta through Youth Mental Health Hubs

What are Youth Mental Health HUBS?

Since 2017, PolicyWise has supported the development of Youth Mental Health Hubs (Hubs) in Alberta through research and evaluation. In 2021, the Alberta government launched the Hubs in partnership with Canadian Mental Health Association, Alberta Division (CMHA-AB). The goal was to improve mental health care for youth aged 11-24 years. 


The Hubs:

How Have the Hubs Been Developed, Implemented, & Evaluated?

PolicyWise was proud to help to develop and implement the Hubs between 2017 and 2021, and we are continuing to support the evaluation. Check out the linked resources below for details about our implementation and evaluation approaches. For current resources related to Hubs, please visit CMHA Alberta.

Indigenous Journey Map

The Indigenous Journey Map highlights lessons learns and tips for Indigenous-led implementation.

Lessons Learned from 13 Communities

We’ve also summarized the lessons we’ve learned from all of our community partners.

Where Are the Hubs Located?

The Hubs are taking place in small, medium, rural, and remote communities. Indigenous communities and land bases are also involved. Since 2017, we have collaborated with 13 different communities from across Alberta. These have included communities within Treaty 6, 7, and 8 territories. We acknowledge the many First Nations, Métis, and Inuit whose footsteps have marked these lands for generations.

The 11 communities currently participating in the integrated service delivery hubs project are:

Who Has Been Involved in the Hubs?

The Hubs are community-led and youth-engaged. They target the needs, resources, and preferences of the local youth – including Indigenous and non-Indigenous youth.

It has also been our privilege to work alongside and learn from Elders, youth, families, and organizations who have contributed their wisdom, experience, and perspectives to this project. Elders, knowledge keepers, and cultural brokers have played a unique role in the initiative through ceremony, spiritual guidance, and consultation. We are grateful for their role modeling of traditional practices and for their commitment to building bridges through shared knowledge.